NFL MVP 2014-15: Winner, Voting Results and Twitter Reaction

2014 nfl mvp voting results

2014 nfl mvp voting results


The 2014 season might have ended in heartbreak for the Green Bay Packers, but quarterback Aaron Rodgers can take solace in the fact that he won a major piece of hardware to close out the campaign.The 31-year-old earned the second Most Valuable Player Award of his career on Saturday night during NFL Honors:Rodgers was beyond impressive during the regular season, helping the Packers finish 12-4 while throwing for 4,381 yards, 38 touchdowns and five interceptions. According to ESPN Stats & Info, his touchdown-to-interception ratio was double Tony Romo’s, who sat second place in the category:Some wondered whether J.J. Watt would be the first defensive player to be MVP since Lawrence Taylor in 1986. While the Houston Texans defensive tackle finished second to Rodgers, he was still 18 first-place votes behind.Sports Illustrated’s Aaron Nagler provided a full breakdown of the voting:Watt’s 13 votes were still by far the most a defensive player had collected for some time, per Michael David Smith of Pro Football Talk:While Watt made a strong case, few will offer much argument as to Rodgers’ credentials.That Rodgers managed to win the MVP Award but miss out on Offensive Player of the Yearwhich instead went to DeMarco Murray, per the NFLis something that Fox Sports’ MikeGarafolofound a bit odd:Even more puzzling was the lone vote for Seattle Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner. Bleacher Report’s Mike Freeman was one of many questioning that choice:In the end, it’s all about who won, though.Rodgers’ numbers speak for themselves, and when you combine them with the Packers’ success on the field, he was an easy choice for MVP.


Keep visiting for the latest news and updates.

Daniel Harrison

Leave a reply